Just Because. This Is How I Sleep

I get a chuckle when I hear the results of sleep studies. You know, the ones that based on sleeping positions your personality can be judged/guessed.

OK, fine I suppose that’s interesting.

But keeping in mind that I like to find the “other” side to pretty much anything here are my thoughts.

The Yearner Position:

  • That’s a partial fetal position with your arms straight out in front of you, hands together. The study says this person is chasing their dreams.

My alternate description:

  • Your spouse/partner takes up more than their share of the bed – you’re “fighting” back to re-claim your territory.

The Log Position:

  • That’s sleeping straight on your side – nothing bent (i.e. knees, arms). The study says this is the result of a completely rigid personality – no flexibility.

My alternate description:

  • You’re sleeping in tight quarters. OR you’ve finally found that comfortable spot and you don’t want to lose it. Maybe your knee hurts when you bend it?

The Free Fallers Position:

  • This is lying on your stomach with both arms up – hands bracketing your head. Like free falling with a parachute. This person feels they have NO control over their life.

My alternate description:

  • You are so tired that since that’s how you fell into bed, that’s where you are until you move. Or your shoulder hurts too much to lie on your side (one of my reasons of late.)

The Warrior Position:

  • That’s sleeping in a fetal position – all curled up. The study says this is the most comfortable position and shows complete comfort with life.

My alternate description:

  • Your spouse/partner has stolen all the sheets/blankets and you’re cold!!! Or there’s the “I’m pregnant and this is the only way I can lie in bed!” answer for the fetal position.

I noticed they didn’t mention the folks who lie on their backs. They never seem to discuss the folks who lie in a sort of oblique position lying on side with the “top leg” bent and knee touching the mattress and opposite arm tucked behind you. Or the just so tuckered out you’ll sleep in any position, position.

As for me, I don’t seem to stay in any one position – more the toss and turn type until I get the optimum spot. By then I generally have to get up and go to the bathroom and my body doesn’t remember that perfect position. Dang!!!

Leave a comment